4-H Professionals Recognized at 2021 NAE4-HYDP Conference

Many of our Ohio 4-H professionals were recognized at the NAE4-HYDP (National Association of Extension 4-H Youth Development Professionals) annual conference in Memphis last month. Those who received an Achievement in Service award were Adrienne Anderson (Licking County), Justin Bower (Logan County), Ashley Hughey (Portage County), Sara Lewis (Fulton County, received recognition via previous work in Michigan), and Margo Long (Marion County). Receiving Distinguished Service awards were: Jenna Hoyt (Ashtabula County), Crystal Ott (state 4-H office), Melinda Ryan (Champaign County), and Tracy Winters (Gallia County). Patty House (Clark County) received a Meritorious Service award.

Those who received the Greg Yost Memorial Youth in Leadership award (named for a former Ohio 4-H educator) were Hannah Epley (state 4-H office), Frances Foos (Madison County), Sarah Longo (state 4-H office), Kayla Oberstadt (state 4-H office), and Cecilia Mainzer (Ohio 4-H alumnus). Jo Williams (Scioto County) received a national communicator award for the news story category. Those recognized for 25 years of service were Graham Cochran (CFAES dean’s office), Teresa Johnson (Defiance County), Scott Scheer (state 4-H office), and Joy Sharp (Pickaway County).

There were several professional development session presenters: Christy Millhouse, Sue Hogan, Andy Hudak, Tracy Winters, Theresa Ferrari, and Mark Light. Poster presenters were: Jo Williams, Margo Long, Kate Wells, and Kiersten Heckel. Last but not least, two Ohio 4-H professionals serve on the NAE4-HYDP board: Theresa Ferrari (Journal of Extension liaison) and Sally McClaskey, chair of conferences.