CFAES Give Today
Extension Operations

Ohio State University Extension


Honorary Members

Honorary Members

Chi Epsilon Sigma is appreciative of the encouragement and support provided by co-workers and administration since 1986. They have stretched our thinking and our stamina, and strengthened our foundations. CES has benefitted from their experience and wisdom.

Though not an annual event, CES has recognized 20 Honorary Members from 1987-2012. A complete list is available inthe CES History section of this website.

A highlight of the first annual meeting of CES in October 1987 was the recognition of our first Honorary Members: Dr. J. Michael Sprott, Director; Dr. Clarence Cunningham, Associate Director; Dr. Frederick Hutchinson, VP, Ag Admin; Carlene Hamilton, Secretary to the Director; Dr. Keith Smith, Leader Personnel Development. These people were our “guardian angels” giving form to the vision of this fledgling organization.

Back row – Clarence Cunningham, President E. Gordon Gee, Bobby Moser, Front row – Shirley Brooks-Jones, Jo Jones, Carlene Hamilton

The 1992 annual meeting marked our 5 year milestone. University President E. Gordon Gee honored us by speaking at our meeting and accepting our invitation to become an Honorary Member. Five of our earlier Honorees were in attendance to celebrate the occasion: Dr, Bobby Moser, Carlene Hamilton, Dr. Jo Jones, Shirley Brooks Jones and Dr. Clarence Cunningham.

Beth Flynn was recognized as an Honorary Member for her support of a regional professional development program open to all Extension staff. Beth agreed to travel the state providing StrengthFinder Training at 6 different locations throughout Ohio. Most recently, Jared Morrison, Organization Development Consultant, CFAES OSUE LOD, has worked tirelessly with the CES Board on several Annual Meeting events.

From time to time CES honors others in Extension for their partnership and support of this organization.  Honorary Membership is bestowed as a small token of our respect and appreciation to those who have enhanced our organization and members through their efforts.

Nominations may come to the Board from the membership and are acted on at the October board meeting and are announced at the CES Annual Meeting in December.

Past Recipients